When Rosie Met Jim Part 2

RAF_VOL_22_ISS_6

The above is available for pre-order.  Here is the link.

http://reviewofaustralianfiction.com/product/raf-152-volume-22-issue-6/

Because the short story now officially exists, and I’m about ten thousand words into a novel, I feel as if I can talk about what I’m working on a little more.

It will be a novel primarily about one house, four characters, five lives, and told through three points of view.

Jimmy is 23 years old in When Rosie met Jim.  In the novel, he’ll be about 25 because it takes place in Sydney about two years after the events of the short story. It’s not  YA, but regardless, I’m predictable. It’s a generational story and it’s character driven, relationship driven and pretty much about community, solace and the ties that bind. (and netball).

The song I’m listening to at the moment is Babylon by Dave Gray and it’s become my lead into the lives of the older characters.

Fingers crossed, I’m hoping to finish the first draft later this year. (I’ll get back to you then).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “When Rosie Met Jim Part 2

  1. Flannery

    “It’s a generational story and it’s character driven, relationship driven and pretty much about community, solace and the ties that bind. (and netball). The song I’m listening to at the moment is Babylon by Dave Gray and it’s become my lead into the lives of the older characters.”

    Sounds perfect. Once, I drove around Ireland with one of my sisters for two weeks. It was around the early 2000s so cars didn’t have audio jacks or USB. We checked every tiny country shop we could find until we found a tiny town shop that had only Irish artists. We bought White Ladder and The Best of Van Morrison and listened to those two CDs the whole time. I’m excited about the Babylon thing, as it has such a special place in my heart.

    Random note: I’ve been listening to this version of Radiohead’s Present Tense: (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hgVihWjK2c) Thom Yorke’s partner of 20+ years passed away only a few months before they shot this and it just feels raw and real. Anyway, the tone and sadness of the song reminds me of some of your characters.

  2. Catie

    Can’t wait! I actually got tears reading ‘When Rosie Met Jim’, especially the bits about what Jimmy had been up to. I didn’t realise I’d missed him so much. And then I came to your blog and read you have a whole novel coming out and it basically made my year.

  3. Pingback: ***OMGOSHJIMMYHAILER*** | JACKIE LEA SOMMERS

  4. Brigitte

    I’m so excited to hear this Melina! I was at a reading you did at Doncaster Library last year, I was the person who asked if Jimmy was okay, and you set me mind at ease but I have been waiting with bated breath for this ever since! Best of luck with the draft!

Leave a Reply

