Misc 2017

It’s been a while, so here’s a bit of everything in a nutshell.

What I’m working on

A short story for the Review of Australian Fiction (RAF), coming out later in the year. It’s called When Rosie meets Jim. I’m going to say “no comment” to any questions about who Jim is until I finish it, but Jim is now twenty-five years old, and if all goes to plan, this short story will be chapter one of the next novel I’m writing.

What’s excited me

I’ve never known how to answer the question regarding who I would invite to the perfect dinner party, but it occurred to me last night at The Dixie Chicks Sydney Concert that it would be those amazing talented women. I’ve got a crush on them all. They had an honourable mention in The Piper’s Son, and listening to their music last night reminded me that I played them to death when I was writing TPS.

What I’ve been reading

Sophie Hannah

Maria Semple

I’ve rediscovered the joy of going to libraries, and walking out with ten books.

Last two films I watched at the cinema.

Lion.

No foreigner has pulled off an Australian accent like Dev Patel. Bawled my eyes out. Extraordinary story.

Dance Academy , the film.

This won’t be released until Easter, but I went to a special advance showing last week. Loved it. Loved it. If you are a fan of the TV series it will exceed your expectations. If you are a fan of YA you’ll enjoy it so much. The characters are out in the big world and it’s such a wonderfully emotional journey.

Where I’ll be this Year

 A few literary festivals, which I’ll mentioned in length once the programs have been announced.

It’s Looking For Alibrandi’s 25th year anniversary, so there are some little special events taking place this year.

Writing workshops and events in Bathurst, Ayr North Queensland, St Albans, Melbourne, Brisbane.  I will keep you posted when more details are released.

Career hopes for 2017

What else? That the Jellicoe film happens. Fingers crossed that it does. And the chance to work on second draft of Saving Francesca. Getting a film off the ground in this country is heart breaking but I have to believe there is a place for these stories.

4 thoughts on “Misc 2017

  1. Ally Thakurdas

    JIMMY HAILER?? Also, are you ever planning to come to Auckland??

  2. Orly

    Her’s yp hoping everything goes as planned. I’ve been rereading all of your books and My god, Tell The Truth Shame the Devik left me gutted in the best way possible.

Leave a Reply

