18th of June: A work in progress

I feel a bit guilty that I haven’t blogged since the end of March, so I’ll start by saying that I’ve been trying to write a novel this past year.

It’s not YA and it’s not fantasy and it’s not set in Australia and it’s not set in America and it’s not set in a fictitious country. I’m saying all that because it means I’m writing something that doesn’t belong to my regular publishers. Scary and exciting at the same time. It’s almost like starting from scratch (not the writing, but the publishing experience).

And the one thing that I will state from this moment on is that writing an adult novel is not harder than writing a YA novel, and one day if it gets published, reading my adult novel will not be harder than reading my YA novels. I remember when The Piper’s Son came out, a journalist asked if I found it harder to write because it was about an older age group and honestly, comparing it with the rest of my work, how could I have found it harder than Jellicoe or the four hundred thousand words of the Lumatere Chronicles?

What I am finding difficult about this novel is that it’s set overseas. Although I did my research last July at the beginning of my process, I’m finding it hard not being able to go for a drive in my neighbourhood to describe the neighbourhood of my characters. What I can say at this early stage is that most times I write novels about young people, where the older generation plays such an important role in their journey. This time it’s about adults where the younger generation plays such an important role in their journey. And that I started off thinking it was a thriller of some sort, but of course, who cares about what happens. It’s the relationships and characters and their journey and their blended histories that I’ve become obsessed with. I think I’m good at that, so whether I’m writing YA or Adult or whatever someone labels my work, I stick to what I’m good at, and what I enjoy reading myself, and after a year of stops and starts, I think I finally almost have a first draft of a novel on my hands.

And I’m a bit in love with every single character.

 

22 thoughts on “18th of June: A work in progress

  1. Syo

    Great news! But while I’m waiting to read another fantastic book of yours (I have no doubts about this), do you have any books that you would recommend? Similar to your writing style and themes you use?
    🙂

  2. Brit

    How did I go so long without seeing this post? This is amazing news! And by amazing, I MEAN AMAZING!!! I’m so glad that another Melina Marchetta book for grace my book shelves at some point. I own them all.

  3. Caroline

    That’s great – another thoughtful novel! I’ve enjoyed everything you’ve written. Fantasy was not one of my interests, but Finnikin of the Rock introduced me to it, and I was hooked. A lot of fantasy writing is not so thoughtful, but again, your blog introduced me to Megan Whalen Turner and Kristin Cashore – wonderful experiences. All the same, in your novels, the courage of so many people who endured deeply injuring experiences, but who could hold on to hope, was a lovely rendition of an important human experience. I do hope you will let us visit some of the Lumatere Chronicles people again one day.
    Best wishes to you.

  4. lovingrob

    Omg. So excited that you are writing a new book 😀 I don’t normally read Adult books.. at all. But. I will read yours 😀 As I adore your writing. And your stories. So I’m sure I will love this one too 😀 SO excited. ❤
    Love, Carina Olsen

  5. Isa

    I loved all the characters you’ve written about and I love revisiting your stories, I’m so excited to read more from you. Thank you.

  6. Tiffany

    SO EXCITED I’m about to pass out. I do love the relationships and communities you build… I find myself dreaming about them for ages… Still thinking about Jellicoe School some six months after I finished the book. Anyway, looking forward to the new one! x

  7. Ari

    Found this in the morning in my e-mail. It made my whole day, you know? I couldn’t stop smiling. And I really can’t wait to read a new book from you – one more favourite to add on my shelf 😉 Take your time, we will be here waiting 😀

  8. sinmotion

    Ohh, how exciting!!! I cannot wait for it to be in my hands. Just keep on doing what you have been doing for the longest, Melina. I trust you unequivocally to deliver a favorite.

  9. thereseastrom

    I’ve only read Jellicoe road so far and it’s one of my all time favorite books. I am looking forward to read more from you and this is real nice news! 🙂

  10. Trish Doller

    I’m especially excited about this as I’ve been working on an adult novel, as well. And you’re right, it’s not harder, but there is something scary (and exhilarating) about stepping outside your comfort zone. Looking forward to the day you announce it’s been sold, but that’s a given, my friend.

  11. MariaCecilia

    This is wonderful news – I was worried you were bogged down by the movie process! So, overseas means…Europe? (there’s a lot of sea) And I love how you define the theme of your writing: I never saw it so clearly before, and I look forward to discovering how you write the future affecting the present instead of the past haunting it.

  12. Kelli Charles

    This is pretty much the most exciting thing I have heard all year. I am pretty sure I am already in love with the characters too…

  13. Audrey

    “It’s the relationships and characters and their journey and their blended histories that I’ve become obsessed with.” pretty sure that’s how I feel about all your books 🙂 I can’t wait to read it!

  14. sarah

    This is such wonderful news! I love all your books, the thought of a new one from you is treasure to the heart.

Leave a Reply

