15 March 2013

Although I don’t think Nonna Katia and Sister Louise would approve of Josie’s short skirt, I love this cover for the Japanese edition of Looking For Alibrandi.  It’s always such a wonderful feeling to know that a novel that is more than 20 years old is still published in a new country.  I’ve never been published in Japan before so I’m thrilled.

japan

 

I’ve also never been published in Brazil, so here is the Brazilian edition of Finnikin o Guerreiro. Love it. I think the title means Finnikin the Warrior, but I could be wrong.

Brazilian finnikin

6 thoughts on “15 March 2013

  1. Tania M

    I love the Japanese ed. cover too – I think Josie would have worn her skirt like that in defiance! ❤

  2. melina marchetta Post author

    Thanks Maggie, It looks great this size.
    I do agree about the colours, Trinity. The thing with Alibrandi is that apart from the movie tie-in, I’ve always had the same cover here so I love the different interpretations.
    And Francesca, I belonged to that time in history when the nuns used to inspect our uniforms and we had to wear matching bloomers under our sports uniform in case someone got a glimpse of our undies.

  3. Francesca WritesHere (@FrancescaBlogs)

    Haha, yes I think the old test of kneeling and making sure the skirt touched the ground would be failed in that instance! Congratulations 🙂

    I’ve loved Looking for Alibrandi since I first read it in high school – being of Italian background in a country town where it felt like no-one understood, I identified with it and immediately felt “at home”.

  4. trinitydoyle

    I love the Alibrandi cover! It’s so cute and fun and the colours are gorgeous 🙂
    Congrats on your Japan printing!!

Leave a Reply

