6th November 2012: Jellicoe Update

I haven’t spoken about the Jellicoe script for a while but I do promise it’s still happening.  As I’ve mentioned before, we have a very strong production team consisting of Sue Taylor the producer, Kate Woods, the director and myself, the scriptwriter.  The reaction to the script has been wonderful and our first step is casting Taylor Markham, which is what we’re working on at the moment.

We’re also talking location. For the last couple of days I’ve been away on a mini break with my friend and publisher Laura Harris and we decided to head up to an area that I think looks much like the Jellicoe of the film script.  The photograph above is a dead end road we accidently stumbled across (which means we got lost).  Also true to the novel, I didn’t have phone coverage for a couple of days.

Below is a photo of the Bellingen Festival which was on Saturday.  I loved this park on the Bellinger river because it reminded me of the Gala Day scene where the three factions get into a fight and Taylor ends up in gaol with Jonah and Santangelo.

The beauty of Dorrigo, which is 30ks away from Bellingen, is its waterfalls and National Parks. I’m getting better with my photography but there was no way I captured the beautiful light of these towns.

Below is how I picture Hannah’s veranda (but not her House which is going to be glass all around.  I have a feeling that Hannah’s house and the School will be built for the production)

And here was a constant visitor outside our place in Coffs Harbour.

20 thoughts on “6th November 2012: Jellicoe Update

  1. Alexandra

    Hi Marlina,
    I’m am a 16 y.o. Australian girl and if possible, would love to take part in any aspect of the acting side of my favourite novel. If there is any chance for any kind of audition, I would love to hear about it!
    Super excited for Jellicoe!

  2. nupuroo

    Ahhh, this is my favorite book of all time, and it’s so hard to believe that I’m actually going to get to see it come to life as a film! ❤

  3. uma miller

    Hi Melina, this is amazing! i just recognised your photo of “jellicoe road”. I live on it. Not to sound like a crazy fan or anything but i have been growing up in the area for a long time and if you need any insider tips on the more beautiful hang out spots of local kids i would be happy to betray some community secrets.
    thanks

  4. Sam

    Absolutly perfect!!!!! I love all your books and im so excited for the movie!!! i would be intrested in going for an extra if thats possible! Dorrigo/Bellingin are very senic places.

  5. Laura

    Omg omg omg omg! My jaw is actually wide open right now! This is my favourite book of yours ( and I have read all your books :p)!! When I heard there was going to be a movie, I thought it was just all rumors, I have literally been waiting for this for years! I know that you guys will do an amazing job making this book into a movie, just as you did with Looking for Allibrandi!

  6. Zipi

    Hi Melina. As an American, I was wondering if there have been any talks as of yet in regards to the film’s release in the U.S. Thanks!

  7. Meghan

    I really love that first photo. It’s very close to how I imagined it as well.

  8. Skatan

    The photos are very much what I myself has imaged when I read Jellicoe Road (sorry that my english isn´t so good but what I will say is : I long for the movie to be and to come to Sweden too. It will be fantastic I´m sure of it 🙂

  9. inandira

    Hi Melina, I’m so excited to read this update and can’t wait to watch the movie. I mean, I love the book so much.

  10. pens

    This is great-thank you! Any idea if we will see this film in North America?

  11. Chachic

    Thank you for keeping us posted! These pictures look amazing. They’re making me want to reread Jellicoe Road. 🙂

  12. wordsmith94

    Looks like it’s all coming together. Congrats! How exciting!! And kudos to you for sticking with the proper Australian spelling of gaol. Finally, someone who can spell!

    Do you know when any casting opportunities will happen? I’m sure you will be flooded with hundreds (if not thousands) of Australian teenagers (and of any other nationality for that matter) dying to take part in this, but I would be interested in trying out for a part. Looks like it’s going to be amazing fun. All the best!

  13. Mitch Cave

    Hi Melina. This is really exciting! I’m a huge fan of the book and I’m a fourteen-year-old male. I was wondering if there were any casting positions open for possibly an extra. I’m dying to do basically anything.
    Kind regards.

Leave a Reply

