Bathurst and Canberra dates

Monday, 12 September: Bathurst

5:50 for 6:00pm        Presented by Books Plus ABC Centre

                                          In conversation with Jenny Barry

Piper Function Room, Oxford Hotel, 170 William St, Bathurst

Tickets: $15 inc light refreshments

Bookings: Books Plus on 02 6331 5994 or admin@booksplus.com.au

 Sunday 27th November: Canberra

3:30pm         MUSE BOOKSHOP / in-conversation            

                        Venue: East Hotel    

Address:        69 Canberra Ave, Kingston ACT 2604; 02 6178 0024

Tickets:          $10 inc a coffee/glass of wine/sparkling water

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sydney and beyond book events Part 1

In September I’ll have a few speaking engagements around town and beyond. Once again, trust the links more than my information. I’m almost sure I have a Bathurst and Bowral and Canberra date coming up, as well, so I’ll keep you posted as soon as I have a link.

Kincumber Library (Central Coast)

Thursday 15th September, 6pm

http://www.wherevent.com/detail/Book-Bazaar-Umina-Melina-Marchetta-author-talk-at-Kincumber-Library

Rosie Scott Women Writers’ Festival Symposium, Sydney

Saturday 17th September.

http://www.rswwf.com.au/store/p6/RSWWF_Symposium.html

Hornsby Library

Wednesday, 21st September, 6pm, $5 with light refreshments

http://www.hornsby.nsw.gov.au/my-lifestyle/events/all-events/library-events/meet-the-author-melina-marchetta

Better Read Than Dead, Newtown – High Tea

Sunday 25th September, 3pm

$15.00 – Bookings necessary

http://www.betterreadevents.com/#!product-page/ch6m/4545303191

 

 

Brisbane Writers Festival

My sessions for The Brisbane Writers Festival are on the 9th and 10th of September.   Please always check websites because I’m bound to get information wrong, especially with regards to bookings, costs etc

Friday 9th September – Word Play (Schools Programme)

11am In Conversation

3.30-4.30 Fan Girl for Life: Meg Rosoff, Melina Marchetta, David Burton (speaking about the books we loved growing up)

Saturday 10th September

10-11am (Talking about Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil)

https://uplit.com.au/festival/brisbane-writers-festival

 

 

Melbourne Writers Festival

Just received this photo. Hot off the press.  Can’t wait to see what it looks like in the paper flesh.

And of course the blurb from Markus, which still makes me teary.

I will share some of the other wonderful blurbs when the US edition is in my hands.

 

IMG_0917

 

Below are my Melbourne Writers Festival events.

I will be adding Brisbane Writers Festival dates when the  program is released this weekend, as well as some other talks I’ll be doing around NSW.

I’ll also be speaking in New York so will be adding that information in the next couple of weeks.

Melbourne Writer’s Festival

Sunday 28th August, 1pm

Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil – in conversation with Nikki Anderson

Sunday 28th August, 5pm

Doncaster Library

Monday 29th August, 11.15am

Alice Pung and Melina Marchetta in conversation with Nikki Anderson

For booking details click here.

Tickets on sale Friday 22nd July. http://mwf.com.au/writer/melina-marchetta/

 

 

 

 

Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil – review

I’m going to try very hard not to post my reviews, but I think the first deserves to be here. It’s always the most nerve-wracking and exciting because it’s the first time that someone I don’t know is critiquing it. So with a deep breath I say,  off into the world it goes.

 

Books+Publishing Daily newsletter

Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil
Melina Marchetta, Viking, September 2016
5 stars, reviewed by Fiona Hardy locked content

Outside Calais, a bomb tears apart a bus full of international teenage students. The uninjured include British ex-Chief Inspector Bish Ortley’s daughter Bee and 17-year-old Violette Zidane, the youngest member of a family involved in a horrific bombing 13 years earlier, where Bish played a devastating part in the investigation. Before Violette can be arrested—or cleared—she runs away, with another student in tow. While those in London and Calais use the bombing as an excuse to light a fire under racial tensions, Bish, despite being suspended from the force, is the one tasked to find her, realising along the way that his belief in the family’s guilt may be wearing thin. Melina Marchetta doesn’t shy away from the authentic emotions of her characters, her writing capturing their joy and pain as they navigate this crime through the veil of Europe’s simmering anti-Muslim sentiments. Bish’s investigative skills, more brains than brute force, showcase Marchetta’s own talent in writing an electrifying contemporary detective thriller. This is a clear-sighted adult-fiction debut for fans of Robert Galbraith and Marchetta herself, and is likely to be devoured by older YA readers as well.

Fiona Hardy is a bookseller, reviewer, writer and 2016 Text Prize finalist

 

The US Cover

I love how different the Australian and US covers are. Can’t wait until it’s out in the world in a couple of months. I’ve been asked often about any book signings.  So far, I’ll be at the Melbourne Writer’s Festival and the Brisbane Writer’s Festival in August/September and will also be in Canberra sometime. Obviously Sydney. Fingers crossed that I’ll get a chance to speak about it in New York when I’m there in October as well.

Marchetta_Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil